Dreams Never End

The optimistic pessimist

Winter Break Is Over

on February 22, 2016

Crazy as it seems I actually am just coming off of my last day of winter break. I work in the school system and am fortunate to have Christmas break in December, winter break in February, and spring break in April.

A majority of people that I work with traveled to some warm, sandy beach, pass the tropical drink location. For me, with two girls in college, I had a stay-cation!

staycation1_11502745

 

Well no, actually it wasn’t really because I  didn’t do any sightseeing in my own town. So it was more like a “my time is my own, and therefore I will do whatever the hell I want all week”.  Yes, that kind of staycation.
The first few days I worked to get some KonMari method organizing done.  If you don’t know what I am talking about, eventually I will devote a blog  post to my pursuit of tidying and simplifying my home. This weeks tidying was my books and papers.  I also cleaned and organized the refrigerator.
I devoted one whole day to preparing income taxes and the FAFSA financial aid form for college.  I had my teeth cleaned.  I enjoyed preparing some wonderful meals that normally I wouldn’t have time to do.
I visited with my husband, cuddled with my cats, Skyped my daughters, stayed up too late, drank too much wine, and enjoyed some great coffee houses. I read some wonderful blog posts, by great writers and attempted some writing as well.
It was a great break and I am grateful to have had a moment to refresh before jumping back in with my middle school students.  I know tomorrow will be challenging, we have a new coworker to train in, a brand new lunch procedure we will be rolling out, lunchtime Zumba activities get underway, and to top it off there’s a full moon!   Jumping back in with both feet!
b31e006878797661f5fd4bea84b0bdff
That’s okay it was a great break, a staycation filled with a little work, a little play and it was my time, my way and I enjoyed it!  I hope you can enjoy some of your own time too.
Be well!  JustLorelei67
7 responses to “Winter Break Is Over

  1. Sometimes that’s the best kind of vacation! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Annette says:

    You sound refreshed my friend? 🙂 I like your posts and I am glad I am following you. I’m interested to see what is in the future for your blog? Fiction posts? Self help tips? Your going to be great at this. If I can help in any way you let me know. 🙂 Annette

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank you for reaching out to me!

    Like

  4. Annette says:

    No problem:) I just started my blog in December! Now have over 200 following me! I wasn’t after that did not even know about blogging at all. But, I have met some really good people. Keep posting… Happy blogging….. Annette! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kally says:

    Thank you for following me and I love how creative you are and the wonderful posts. I’ll be back to read more of it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

